Anonymous visitors who access your map and data portal can only see maps and datasets set to Public access.
Anonymous users never see your administration sidebar, editing tools, or any maps and data that have any setting other than Public.
Who can access your maps?
- Any Public maps that are switched Online will appear in your public portal and can be accessed by anyone.
- Maps that are Offline will not appear in your public portal.
- To restrict access to maps and data from your portal, you must set the appropriate Access options for each map and dataset.
- Stand-alone, Hidden, and Password Protected maps will never appear on your public portal to anonymous users.
- Signed in users can access the maps that you have explicitly granted them access to.
Who can access your data
- Datasets set to Public will appear in your public portal, and can be downloaded by anyone.
- Internal datasets never appear in your public portal, but can be accessed and downloaded by any signed-in user belonging to any group that you have granted view or edit access.
How a map appears to different users
A Public Map
- Can view and interact with the map application.
- Cannot see any administration tools
Private Viewers (Signed-in User)
- Can view maps they have been granted view permission to see, but can never modify any maps, or edit any datasets – even if they are in a Group with Modify or Edit permissions.
Data Editors (Signed-in User)
- Can view maps they have been granted view permission to see, and can edit any datasets visualized on the map if they belong to a Group with Edit permissions. A Data Editor can never modify the map settings.
Administrators (Signed-in User)
Administrator with Modify permissions for the map and Edit permissions for the data
- Can view the map, modify the map settings, and edit specific datasets with Edit permissions.
Administrator with View permissions but no Modify or Edit permissions for the map or data
- Can view and interact with the map, but cannot modify the map settings, or edit the data.
Account Owner (Signed-in)
- Full access to modify all maps and edit all datasets.
- Full access to alter account settings: Branding, Users & Groups, Plan, Add-ons, and Billing Cycle.
Learn more about Map Access
If you want to previewing your map application or portal as an ‘anonymous’ user, open an incognito/private browser window and try to access your map or portal.